North Zone win against South by 66 runs

Perinthalmanna: North Zone won the State under-22 inter-zone cricket title on Thursday against the South Zone by 66 runs in the last league match to finish the tournament with nine points. Central Zone, with eight points, came second.


South Zone, needing 266 for a victory, started the day at 85 for two, but Central Zone bowlers Vishnu (four for 21) and Fabid Farooq (three for 60) struck at regular intervals as South Zone slipped to defeat. Only Rahul Dev (71) and Jithin Ramachandran (64) batted well.