Hyderabad amateur Sneha ready for another shot at glory

Sneha Singh teeing off on first teeHyderabad: Amateur Sneha Singh will be back for a shot at a second title in succession as she takes on senior and more established players in the Rs. Seven lakh 12th Leg of the Hero Women’s Pro Golf Tour, starting from Wednesday at the Boulder Hills Golf & Country Club. Winner of the 11th Leg at the Hyderabad Golf Association course, Sneha, who is from Hyderabad, is also a regular at the Boulder Hills venue which is in perfect condition and is looking absolutely gorgeous.

Another amateur Shreya Pal, who finished a creditable fifth last week, is also back in the field.

Among the leading names from the Pro Tour, Ridhima Dilawari, three time winner this season leads the list, while others include Hero Order of Merit leader Gaurika Bishnoi and No. 2 Neha Tripathi. Amandeep Drall and Gursimar Badwal are the other leading contenders in the field.

Last week Sneha, showing maturity and caliber way beyond her 15 years, beat a strong field including Vani Kapoor, to join a select band of amateurs who have won a pro event. That select band includes the likes of Aditi Ashok, DIksha Dagar, Tvesa Malik and Ridhima Dilawari.

Pranavi Urs, Gurbani Singh, Raksha Phadke and Mehar Atwal have also won titles on Hero WPG Tour as amateurs.

As the second half of the season rolls on, regulars like Amandeep Drall and Gursimar Badwal, who have often dominated the local tour and won numerous times, have won just once each and would be looking to add to that.

This season six players have won the 11 events held so far, with three of them, Ridhima (3), Gaurika (2) and Tvesa (2) being multiple winners.

Tee times for Round 1, Leg 12, Hero Women’s Pro Golf Tour, Boulder Hills Golf and Country Club, Hyderabad:

8:30 AM: Gaurika Bishnoi, Anousha Tripathi;

8:40 AM: Gauri Karhade, Khushi Khanijau, Ishvari Prasanna;

8:50 AM: Gursimar Badwal, Ananya Datar, Neha Tripathi;

9:00 AM: Shriya Vivek, Oviya Reddi, Jyotsana Singh;

9:10 AM: Gurjot Badwal, Siddhi Kapoor, Anisha Agarwalla;

9:20 AM: Shreya Pal (A), Ridhima Dilawari, Suchitra Ramesh;

9:30 AM: Sneha Singh (A), Amandeep Drall, Afshan Fatima;