Chennai Open: 3 Indians advance in singles qualifiers

Chennai: Indians Rohan Bopanna, Mohit Mayur Jayaprakash and Prajnesh Gunneswaran moved into the second round in the 32-man singles qualifying draw of the Aircel Chennai Open Tennis Tournament 2012 at the SDAT-Nungambakkam Tennis Stadium on Saturday.


The main draw of the 17th edition of India’s only and South Asia leading ATP World Tennis Tour event will begin on Monday, January 2, with four qualifying slots to be filled.

Doubles specialist Bopanna defeated compatriot Vijay Sundar Prashanth, who retired with an injury in the second set, Mohit Mayur put it past countryman Ramanathan and Gunneswaran beat compatriot Karan Rastogi.

Eight other Indians lost in the first round of the qualifiers.

The final round of Chennai Open qualifiers will be held on Sunday.

COURT 1 start 11:00 am
Qualifying - T Huey (PHI) vs R De Voest (RSA)
Qualifying - R Bopanna (IND) vs G Soeda (JPN)

COURT 2 start 11:00 am
Qualifying - I Van der Merwe (RSA) vs I Cervantes-Huegun (ESP)
Qualifying - J Cabal (COL) vs T de Bakker (NED)

COURT 3 start 11:00 am
Qualifying - V Pospisil (CAN) vs M Jayaprakash (IND)
Qualifying - E Roger-Vasselin (FRA) vs D Lajovic (SRB)

COURT 4 start 11:00 am
Qualifying - [WC] P Gunneswaran (IND) vs R Ram (USA)
Qualifying - J Sousa (POR) vs Y Sugita (JPN)