Paramveer shocks top seed Parikshit on 2nd day of Rendez-Vous à Roland-Garros

Paramveer against Parikshit at Rendez Vous à Roland Garros in partnership with LonginesDelhi: Paramveer Bajwa pulled off an upset when he ousted the top seed Parikshit Somani in straight sets on the second day of Rendez-Vous à Roland-Garros in partnership with Longines’ at the Delhi Lawn tennis Association here on Tuesday. The lad from Chandigarh put up a dominating performance against India’s No. 4 Parikshit from Assam and breezed past him with a scoreline of 6-3, 6-0 to make it to the quarterfinals on the new clay courts at DLTA.

The second edition of ‘Rendez-Vous à Roland-Garros in partnership with Longines’ saw some exciting matches including the three setter between Rishi Reddy and Siddhant Banthia. Rishi Reddy from Karnataka came from one set down to defeat Siddhant 5-7, 6-2,6-2. Earlier in the girls division, fourth seeded Lalita Devarakonda from Andhra Pradesh defeated Aesha Patel 6-4, 6-3 to make it to the quarters.

The second edition of ‘Rendez-Vous à Roland-Garros in partnership with Longines kick-started yesterday amidst much fanfare. In the first match eight seeded Humera Shaik from Andhra Pradesh defeated Aarja Chakraborty to qualify for the quarterfinals. The match lasted two sets, with Humera beating Aarja 6-4, 6-4, meanwhile Rishika Ravindran from Tamil Naidu defeated the sixth seeded Nida Shahid Kamal in a closely fought encounter. Rishika won the match 7-5, 6-2.

The most closely fought match of the day was played between the third seed Aakansha Bhaan from Guajrat and Angella Raman from Haryana. Akanksha got the better of Angella in a three setter. The first set was a tie breaker which saw Angella talking the set 6-7(5). However, Akansha got better as the game progressed and took the next two sets 6-1,6-4.

Adil Kalyanpur( Karnataka) beat Shivadeep Kosharaju(Telangana) – 6-3, 6-2
Alex Solanki(Delhi) beat SM Aditya (Maharashtra) – 7-5, 6-2
Sanil Jagtiani (West Bengal) beat Yugal Bansal (Delhi) – 6-2, 7-5
Shrey Gupta(Haryana) beat Dhruv Sunish(Maharashtra) – 6-4,7-5
Rishi Reddy(Karnataka) beat Siddhant(Maharashta) – 5-7, 6-2,6-2
Paramveer Bajwa(Chandiarh) beat Parikshit Somani(Assam) – 6-3,6-0

Humera Shaik(Andhra Pradesh) beat Aarja Chakraborty(UP)- 6-4,6-4
Lalita Devarakonda(Andhra Pradesh)beat Aesha Patel(Gujarat) – 6-4,6-3
Rishika Ravindran beat Nida Shahid Kamal(Maharashtra) – 7-5,6-2
Sabhyata Nihalani(Delhi) beat Shivani Manjanna(Karnatak) – 6-1, 6-2
Akansha Bhan(Gujarat)beat Angella Raman – 6-7(5), 6-1,6-4
Abhinikka(Tamil Nadu) beat Smriti Singh(Haryana)- 6-0,6-0