Solanki advances into last eight of men’s singles at Fenesta Open

Alex Solanki Fenesta OpenNew Delhi: Alex Solanki, well known for his consistency among juniors of the country, used his strong forehand to good effect as he defeated fifth seed Anvit Bendre in the Men’s Singles second round of the Fenesta Open National Tennis Championship on Wednesday.

At 16, to be reaching the quarter-finals of the premier hardcourt tennis event is creditable. As someone who has also started playing the Futures circuit as well, it was a good win for Solanki.

Top seed Sriram Balji continued to hold sway on another hot day as he toyed with Suresh Gokul and won 6-1, 6-2 for a last eight berth. The young man from Chennai has got used to the pace of the courts as he has played five days over here since the qualifying stage. And he will surely fancy his chances in the draw here.

Seasoned player VM Ranjeet looked in good touch as he toppled Nitin K Sinha 6-0,6-3. The defending champion Vishnu Vardhan beat Vilasier Khate 6-4,6-2

In the Women's Singles there were no major surprises, with Snehadevi Reddy, Prerna Bhambri and Delhi's Shweta Rana underlining their dominance.

Snehadevi had the measure of Samriti Punyani, winning 6-2, 6-3 while Shweta defeated M Aarthi 6-3, 6-3. Defending Champion Prerna Bhambri had an easy win against Vaidehi Chaudhari 6-1, 6-1. Other winners in the Women's section included Riya Bhatia and Pranjala Yadlapalli.

In the Boys'Under-18 draw, top seed Aryan Goveas and second seed BR Nikshep played well under the circumstances.

In the highly competitive Girls Under-18 event, Zeel Desai was sharp as she played with good feel to overcome Shivani Amineni 6-0, 6-1.


Men’s Single

Sriram Balaji (Seed 1)bt Suresh Gokul 6-1, 6-2; Vishnu Vardhan (Seed 2) bt Vilasier Khate 6-4, 6-2;
Mohit M Jayprakash (Seed 3) bt Rashein Samuel 6-2, 6-3; V M Ranjeet (Seed 4) bt Nitin K Sinha 6-0,
6-3;Shaikh Abdullah bt Lakshit Sood 6-4, 6-4;Siddharth Rawat bt B Sai Saran Reddy 6-1, 6-1;
Alex Solanki bt Anvit Bendre (Seed 5) 6-4, 7-5;Siddharth Vishwakarma bt Garvit Batra 6-2, 7-6

Women’s Single

Snehadevi S Reddy (Seed 1) bt Samriti Punyani 6-2, 6-3;Riya Bhatia bt Isha Budwal 6-0, 6-0;Pranjala Yadlapalli bt Aarja Chakraborty 6-0, 6-0;Samhita S Chamarthi bt Shivika Burman 6-4, 6-1;Shweta Rana bt M Aarthi 6-3, 6-3;Sowjanya Bavisetti bt Teerta Iska 6-1, 6-3;Eetee Maheta bt Vannya Dangwal 6-2, 6-3; Prerna Bhambri (Seed 4) bt Vaidehi Chaudhari 6-1,6-1

Boy’s Under 18 Single

Aryan Goveas (Seed 1) bt Adil Kalyanpur 6-3, 6-4; B R Nikshep (Seed 2) bt Udayan Bhakar 7-5, 6-4;
Abhimanyu Vannemreddy bt Shramay Dhawan 6-4, 6-3;Parishit Soani bt Yugal Bansal 6-1, 7-6(5)
Nitin K Sinha bt Anurag Nenwani 6-4, 7-6 (2);Alex Somani bt Param Punj 6-3, 6-3 ;M Sureshkumar bt Siddharth Banthia 6-3, 6-1;Abhinav Sanjeev bt Aditya Vashisht 6-4, 6-4

Girl’s Under 18 Single

Zeel Desai (Seed 1) bt Shivani Amineni 6-0, 6-1; Jennifer Luikham bt Harsha S Challa 6-4, 6-1;Akanksha Bhan bt Vanhika Sawhney 7-5, 6-2; Vaidehi Chaudhari bt Sabhyata Nihalani 4-6,7-5,6-3

Boy’s Under 18 Double

Dhruv Sunish (Seed 1) & Anurag Nenwani bt Suit Pal Singh & Shrey Gupta 1-7 (5), 6-3, {10-5}; Para Pun (Seed 2) & Paramweer S Bajwa bt Kushaan Nath & Vikrant Dahiya 6-1, 6-4 ;. Adil Kalyanpur (Seed 3) and Parikhit Somani bt Shramay Dhawan & Armaan Batia 6-4, 6-4; Sanil Jagtiani (Seed 4) & Ishaque Iqbal (Seed 3) bt B R Nikshep & Raswant Ravi 6-4, 6-2