Sania Mirza

Sania MirzaName of the Sportsperson: Sania Mirza

Discipline: Tennis Player

Date of Birth: 15 November1986

State: Hyderabad



Achievements and Awards

•    She  won the mixed double events at the 2009 Australian Open
•    In 2004 she was awarded the Arjuna award   by the Indian Government
•    In 2006, Mirza was awarded a Padma Shri
•    WTA Tournament Singles Titles: 1
•    WTA Tournament Doubles Titles: 2

Facts about Sania Mirza

•    The Economic Times named Mirza in the list of the "33 women who made India proud
•    In 2004, Hyderabad Open, Mirza was a wildcard receiver.
•    In 2006, Mirza reached the second round of the Australian Open, falling to Michaella Krajicek.


Sania started playing tennis professionally in 2003. She made her career debut with India Fed Cup team, winning all three singles matches. She won the Wimbledon Championships Girls' Doubles title, partnering with Russian player Alisa Kleybanova in 2003. For her outstanding achievement in the sport, the Indian government awarded her with Arjuna Award in 2004. Later in 2006, she was again awarded by the Government of India with Padma Shri- the fourth highest civilian award of India.

The other awards to her credit include WTA Newcomer of the Year in 2005. The same year she won her first WTA singles title at Hyderabad Open. In 2006, representing India at Doha Asian Games, Sania won silver in the women's singles, gold in the mixed doubles partnering Leander Paes and silver in Indian women's team. Recently Mirza won mixed doubles grand slam title pairing with compatriot Mahesh Bhupathi at Australian Open 2009. She is the first Indian woman to win a Grand Slam title.