Neel Roy breaks national record in Junior Aquatic Championship

Neel RoyMumbai: The 4th day of the 43rd Glenmark Junior National Aquatic Championships begun with the 800m Freestyle event for Girls Group I. Rayna Saldhana lived up to her top seeding by swimming a flawless race to win Maharashtra its first gold of the day. She clocked a time of 9:47.73 sec .She was followed by Preksha H.M. and Nikhita S V with time of 9:50.11 sec and 9:52.92 sec.

Neel Roy swam a near perfect race to create a new National record in the 200 IM Boys Group 1 with a time of 2:10.74 sec obliterating the existing record of Arvind M of 2:11.13 sec. Neel Roy, who is swimming for the first time in this age group emerged as the best overall swimmer. He was followed by Shivaksh Sahu of Chhattisgarh who clocked a time of 2:15.40 sec. Chandru P of Karnataka claimed bronze with a time of 2:16.92 sec.
The Second gold of the day came through the consistent Ishan Jaffer who won gold in the 400m Freestyle Group Boys I with a time of 4:11.36 sec. He was followed by Kushagra Rawat of Delhi who clocked a time of 4:13.04 sec. Rahul M of Karnataka won bronze with a time of 4:15.25 sec.
Kenisha Gupta proved her prowess as the best all round swimmer by securing the gold in the 200 m Individual Medley Girls Group II with a time of 2:31.69 sec. She was followed by the double gold medal winner Aaliyah Singh of Uttar Pradesh with a time of 2:37.18 sec. Goli Jahnavi of Telangana won bronze with a time of 2:42.65 sec.
Rudransh Mishra, who trains at the Glenmark Aquatic Foundation and swimming in his first Nationals won silver in the 400 m Freestyle in Boys Group II with a time of 4:25.65 sec. The winner of the event was the prodigy from Karnataka Sanjay C.J. who broke a ten year old national record clocking a time of 4:15.58. Saif Chandran K S of Karnataka won bronze with a time of 4:25.70 sec.
Yuga Birnale secured the second silver for Maharashtra on day 4 winning the second spot in 200m IM Girls Group I with a time of 2:35.77 sec. Sayani Ghosh of West Bengal won gold with a time of 2:27.50 sec and Jhanati Rajesh of Karnataka won bronze with a time of 2:37.74 sec.
Yuga Birnale and Trisha Karkhanis won silver and bronze in the 200m backstroke Girls Group I with time of 2:33.83 sec and 2:34.46 sec respectively. Soubrity Mondal of West Bengal won the first gold medal for her state with a time of 2:32.01 sec.
Arya Rajguru won yet another silver for Maharashtra in the 50 m Breakstroke Girls Group I. Damini Gowda of Karnataka won the race with a time of 29.90 sec while Ambalika Basak of West Bengal won the bronze with a time of 30.30 sec.
Kenisha Gupta claimed her second medal of the day in the 50m butterfly Girls Group II with a time of 30.85 sec .Anubhuti Baruah of Glenmark SAI National swimming academy won silver for Assam with a time of 30.84 sec while Mayuri Lingaraj of Karnataka won gold with a time of 29.87 sec.
Mihir Ambre of Maharashtra won the bronze in the 50m Butterfly boys Group I with a time of 26.39 sec. Xavier Michael D’Souza of Goa won the silver with a time of 26.29 sec while C S B Prithvi Raj of Tamil Nadu won gold with a time of 26.15 sec.