Mumbai-Pune cycle race packs punch with increased prize money

Pune: For the first time ever a grand prize of Rs One Lakh awaits the winner of the 50th edition of Mumbai-Pune Cycle Race, which is back into its usual place—the start of the year—all thanks to the sponsorship from a hospitality brand.

The 153-km cycle race, scheduled on Sunday, January 8, will have all its usual prizes including the most vaunted ‘King of Ghat’ title, which now will earn Rs 31,000 just as the Maharashtra Cycling Association (MCA) has managed to increase prize money for all positional finishers following the generous sponsorship.

The Golden Jubilee cycle race, an all-India level event organized by the MCA under the aegis of the Cycling Federation of India is being organized as part of the 71st birthday celebrations of Sharad Pawar, president of the Nationalist Congress Party, the chief mentor of the cycle race for last several years.

“We are happy to have been able to be on board in the golden jubilee year. I am also happy that we became first hospitality industry to join hands with the sport of cycling in general and the MCA in particular,” said the Citrus Hotels Director Omprakash Goenka. Citrus Hotels are the sponsors of the event.

Maharashtra Cycling Association, Honarary Secretary, Pratap Jadhav explained, “Apart from the Mumbai-Pune cycle race, the CITRUS Hotels will be supporting other events of the MCA through the year.”

As usual, the cycle race will be over a distance of 153-km from Chembur to Sambhaji Park on Jangali Maharaj Road in Pune, apart from 20-km through neutral zone from Gateway of India to RK Studio in Chembur.


After the flagging off, the cycle race will take the route; Regal Cinema, Hutatma Chowk, Chhattrapati Shivaji Terminus, Under JJ Bridge, Ubha Parsi, Bhaykhala, Kala Chowki Junction, Lal Baug, Parel, Dadar, Chembur, Chuna Bhatti, Thane, Khadi Bridge, Navi Mumbai, Vashi, Panvel, Khopoli, Bhor Ghat, Khandala, Lonavala, Kamshet, Vadgaon, Dehu Road, Nigdi, Akurdi, Chinchwad, Pimpri, Dapodi, Bopodi, up to Wakdewadi by Mumbai-Pune National Highway before culminating at Sambhaji Park.

On the route - from Gateway of India to RK Studio in Chembur, the neutral zone, the race will pass under all over-bridges. But in the competition section, the race will pass on all over-bridges.

“The race is restricted to men aged between 18 years and 35 years. Women and girls are not eligible for this cycle race,” Jadhav added.


There are host of prizes as in the past, with the winner taking home a pay cheque of Rs 1,00,000, up by Rs 35,000 from Rs 65,000 handed out last year. The runner-up will earn Rs 75,000 (up from Rs 55,000) and the third-place finisher Rs 51,000 (up from Rs 45,000).

Five consolation prizes of Rs 10,000 each for those who finish from seventh to 11th place and Rs 1,500 to each cyclists who crosses the finish line in 30 minutes after the winner.

Other prizes include ‘Prime at Panvel’, ‘Prime at Khopoli’, ‘Prime at Kamshet’ and ‘King of Ghat’.

A total of Rs 6,14,000 will be given as prize money while the overall prize fund is of Rs 7,65,000 including the guarantee money to be paid to each participant from the entries received from Cycling Federation of India, State associations, member boards and the Sports Authority of India.

“The cyclists arriving after 15 minutes of ‘King of Bhor Ghat’ at the King of Ghat finish point, will not be considered for the prizes thereafter. Also, those who end their race at the Bor Ghat finish line, the MCA will not consider for the prizes,” Jadhav explained.

Finally, the MCA thanks Pune City Police, State Home Department, Highway Police, Mumbai Traffic Police, Raigad and Pune Rural Police, Ajitdada Pawar, Chhagan Bhujbal, Anil Bhosale (MLC), Anna Thorat (NCP), Narendra Rane (NCP Working President of South Mumbai), for their support and help in preparations for the race.


Final at Pune after 153-km (figures in bracket is last year’s prize money)

1.       First            Rs 1,00,000 (Rs 65,000)

2.       Second         Rs 75,000 (Rs 55,000)

3.       Third           Rs 51,000 (Rs 45,000)

4.       Fourth         Rs 41,000 (Rs 35,000)

5.       Fifth            Rs 31,000 (Rs 25,000)

6.       Sixth            Rs 21,000 (Rs 11,000)

Prime at Kamshet after 90-km

1.       First            Rs 10,000

2.       Second         Rs 7,000

3.       Third           Rs 5,000

Rs 500 to each cyclist who crosses the Kamshet finish line in 30 minutes after the 1st rider.

King of Ghat starts after 65-km for 7 kilometres

1.       Title winner Rs 31,000

2.       Second         Rs 11,000

3.       Third           Rs 11,000

4.       Fourth         Rs 11,000

Rs 500 to each cyclist who crosses the King of Ghat finish line in 30 minutes after the 1st rider.

Prime at Khopoli after 55-km

1.       First            Rs 10,000

2.       Second         Rs 7,000

3.       Third           Rs 5,000

Prime at Panvel after 35-km

1.       First            Rs 7,000

2.       Second         Rs 5,000

3.       Third           Rs 2,000.