From Sohail Tanvir to Dwayne Bravo: Players who have won Purple Caps in IPL since 2008

Lasith Malinga Sri Lanka CricketerThe ninth edition of the Indian Premier League has already started and the cricket fans all over the world would be treated to a daily dose of “Criketainment” for the next over one-and-a-half months. T20 is the shorter format of the game and has mostly been dominated by batsmen. However, there have been instances where the bowlers have proved their worth and have won the matches for their teams even in this format.

Let us look at the Purple Cap winners (highest wicket-takers) in the eight IPL tournaments held so far:

IPL 8 2015

Dwayne Bravo: The West Indian cricketer is the only player to wear the purple cap twice. Playing for Chennai Superkings, Bravo bagged 26 wickets in 17 matches with an economy of 8.14. His best bowling performance was 3/22.

IPL 7 2014

Mohit Sharma: The bowler made his first-class debut for Haryana in the 2011-12 Ranji Trophy season. He impressed in IPL 2013 with 20 wickets from 15 matches and was soon playing ODI cricket for India. In 2014 the youngster finished with 23 wickets in 16 matches with an economy of 8.39 became the winner of the Purple Cap.

IPL 6 2013

Dwayne Bravo, West Indies cricketer, was picked up by the Chennai Super Kings during 2011 IPL Auctions. In 2013 IPL playing for Chennai Super Kings, taking 32 wickets at an average of 9.15 to win the Purple Cap and overthrow Albie Morkel to become Chennai Super Kings's leading wicket taker. He bowled with an economy of 7.95 and his best bowling performance was 4/42.

IPL 5 2012

Morne Morkel: The South African cricketer took 25 wickets in 16 matches and collected the Purple Cap for the best wicket taking bowler. His team Delhi Daredevils finished first in the tables but failed to make the Playoff Final. He bowled with an economy of 7.19 and his best bowling performance was 4/20.

IPL 4 2011

Lasith Malinga: This famous Sri Lankan cricketer plays for Mumbai Indians in the IPL. In the first match of the fourth season of IPL, he scalped 5 wickets against Delhi Daredevils, restricting them to a paltry 95. He won the Purple Cap award in the fourth season of IPL with 28 wickets in 16 matches. Throughout the tournament, he led the Mumbai Indians attack from the front and was instrumental in many victories. He had an economy rate of 5.95 and average of 13.39.His best bowling was 5/13.

IPL 3 2010

Pragyan Ojha: He was the most successful bowler in the second season of IPL. He was awarded the Purple Cap for picking up 21 wickets in 16 matches in that tournament. He best bowling figure was 3/26. He has been part of 3 IPL winning teams (1 for Deccan Chargers and 2 for Mumbai Indians) & 1 champions League for Mumbai Indians. He plays for Bengal in domestic cricket.

IPL 2 2009

RP Singh: He was highly successful in IPL 2009 and emerged as the highest wicket taker of the tournament with 23 from 16 matches, thereby winning the Purple Cap. Deccan Chargers emerged as winners of the tournament. His performance early in the tournament earned him a spot in the Indian squad for the 2009 ICC World Twenty20. He is also one of the leading all-time wicket takers in Indian Premier League with 52 wickets. He bowled at an economy rate of 6.98 with best bowling performance of 4/22.

IPL 1 2008

Sohail Tanvir: The Pakistani cricketer playing in his third match of tournament took a match-winning six wickets against the Chennai Super Kings at the Sawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur. His figures of 6–14 from four over is a record for Twenty20 cricket. He ended the tournament as the highest wicket-taker, with 22 wickets from 11 matches at an average of 12.09 and an economy rate of 6.46. he had a strike rate of 11.20, the best among bowlers with more than six wickets.