Jayawardene replaces Sehwag as captain of Daredevils for CLT20

New Delhi: Sri Lanka batsman Mahela Jayawardene will captain the Delhi Daredevils in Champions League T20 2012 that will take place in South Africa from October 9 a report in the delhidarevils.com said.

Virender Sehwag who captained India in the four of the five IPL seasons is relieved of captaincy after the batsman himself expressed desire to step down.

“Viru told us a few months ago that he wanted to bat freely and suggested that we make Mahela the captain of the side,” team’s mentor TA Sekar was quoted in the report.

Delhi Daredevils who finished third in the IPL season V has been drawn against Kolkata Knight Riders, Perth Scorchers, Titans and a qualifier.

The squad: Mahela Jayawardene (captain), David Warner, Kevin Pietersen, Ross Taylor, Morne Morkel, Andre Russell, Virender Sehwag, Irfan Pathan, Umesh Yadav, Venugopal Rao, Pawan Negi, Naman Ojha (wicket-keeper), Ajit Agarkar, Unmukt Chand and Aavishkar Salvi (as replacement for Varun Aaron).

By Indian Sports News Network