13th Hockey India Sub-Junior Women National C’ship 2023: Tamil Nadu, Uttarakhand, Chhattisgarh register wins

13th Hockey India Sub Junior Women National Championship 2023New Delhi: Tamil Nadu, Uttarakhand, and Chhattisgarh won respective games in the 13th Hockey India Sub Junior Women National Championship 2023 continued at the Birsa Munda Hockey Stadium in Rourkela, Odisha on Monday.  

The first match saw Hockey Unit of Tamil Nadu defeat Tripura Hockey by a comprehensive 20-1 scoreline. The goal scorers for Hockey Unit of Tamil Nadu were Team Captain Anusuya (2’, 13’, 35’), Jayashree M (9’, 20’, 38), Priyadharsini K (9’, 16’, 31’, 45’, 50’, 60’), Navya R (16’, 39’, 54’), Muthulakshmi R (17’, 19’, 19’, 57’), and Deepika D (50’). Meanwhile, Supriya Chauhan (49’) managed to score a consolation goal for Tripura Hockey.

Hockey Uttarakhand beat Hockey Bengal by 14-0 in the second match. Team Captain Aarti (10’, 16’, 38’, 42’, 60’), Vansi (28’), Kavita (29’), Mukta (30’, 55’), Minakshi (35’, 45’), and Pooja Kalura (37’, 47’, 55’) scored to seal three points for Hockey Uttarakhand.

The third match of the day saw Chhattisgarh Hockey steal a 3-1 comeback victory over Delhi Hockey. Delhi Hockey opened the scoring after Dipika (12’) converted a penalty corner. However, Chhattisgarh Hockey responded through goals from Yashoda (25’, 43’) and Nandini Yadav (29’) to shift the outcome in their favour.

Later today, Hockey Madhya Pradesh plays against Hockey Himachal and Kerala Hockey will take on Hockey Rajasthan. 

Also, on Sunday, Hockey Maharashtra took on Le Puducherry Hockey and beat them by 12-0. Sanjana Raikwar (10’, 27’, 32’, 35’, 40’, 55’, 59’) stole the show for Hockey Maharashtra with seven goals. Meanwhile, Tanishka Sanjay Shinde (14’, 55’), and Akanksha Dadaso Pal (29’, 60’) scored a brace each while Sanika Mane (41’) netted one goal for her side.

Hockey Karnataka defeated Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Daman & Diu Hockey 5-0 in a Pool H match on Sunday. Manish Ponnamma Cd (9’, 22’) opened the account for Hockey Karnataka followed up by a slew of penalty corner conversions from Sinchanaraj (24’), Deepika R (25’), and Meher Kaur Mehta (46’) to put the result beyond any doubt.