Young Golfers Gear-Up for Hank Haney IJGTQualifier

New Delhi: The second leg of the ‘Hank Haney International Junior Golf Tour’ Asian Circuit - Indian Qualifiers 2011 -- hosted by the Albatross Junior Tour, which has an exclusive tie-up with the Hank Haney IJGT – will be played at Jaypee Greens in Greater Noida on October 20 & 21.


The first leg of Indian Qualifiers 2011 held at Bangalore Golf Club on September 15 & 16 where the South Indian leg saw a great excitement and tough competition among junior golfers.


Rahul Ravi’s five birdies in both Round 1 & 2 of the Indian Qualifiers 2011 first leg made headlines in Indian media. The young lad clinched the title in Category ‘A’ (15-16 years) Boys, while in the Girls’ section, Millie Saroha won the title.


Both the winning golfers have booked their tickets to Hank Haney IJGT Asian Tournament of Champions (ATOC) in Thailand in December 2011 and the Tournament of Champions (TOC) in Orlando, USA in May 2012.


From North India, Tarundeep Chadha (current India No.3), Manu Gandas (runner-up IJGT 2010),  Ankur Chadha, (India No. 4) and Piyush Sangwan (winner of US KIDS USA 2011 & True Vision Thailand 2010) will fight for the top position in this two-round junior golf tournament.


Moreover, Prakhar Aswa (winner of various National Tournaments), Feroze Garewal (winner of True Vision Thailand 2010), Isabelle Rahm, Ridhima Dilawari and Seher Atwal ( Emerging Players of  2011) will also give their best to win the titles in their respective categories at Jaypee Greens.
Patrick O'Toole, Director (Admissions) IJGA – a leading Golf academy -- would be witness to the event as Chief Guest.


Competition is open to boys and girls from categories ‘A’ (15-18 years) and ‘B’ (11-14 years). But running concurrently alongside the qualifier will be a regular Albatross tournament, with kids from categories ‘A’ to ‘E’ teeing it up (the Albatross age categories, incidentally, differ from those of the IJGT).


The top three in categories ‘A’ and ‘B’ – a total of 12 players, including six boys and six girls – will qualify for the ATOC and TOC.