Deepa Malik, Chawrasia to headline CSJC annual awards

SSP Chawrasia Hong Kong OpenKolkata: Deepa Malik, India's only woman Paralympic medallist, and 2017 Indian Open golf champion S.S.P. Chawrasia will be among the recipients at the annual awards programme of the Calcutta Sports Journalists Club (CSJC) here on Tuesday.

Chawrasia will get the best sportsperson's award and Malik will receive the ‘Inspiration of the Year' award.

Cricketer Saurav Singh has been chosen for the best junior sportsperson award.

There will be three special awards in football for Mridul Banerjee, Bengal's Santosh Trophy winning coach, Rana Gharami, the Bengal skipper in the Santosh Trophy campaign, and Manvir Singh who scored the match-winner in the final against Goa.

Special awards will also be given to Pranab Nandy, coach of the Bengal under-19 team that emerged champions of India, and Anindita Chakraborty for her role in helping Bengal become the national champions in table tennis.

Lifetime achievement awards will be given to cricketer Raju Mukherji, former Bengal and East Zone skipper and match referee, Dibyendu Barua, India's second Grandmaster, and Shyam Thapa, member of the 1970 Asian Games bronze medal winning team who is also the head of the technical committee of the All India Football Federation.

Malik, 46, won silver in the shot put event of the 2016 Paralympic Games in Rio de Janeiro becoming the first Indian woman medallist at the quadrennial Games.

She will get an award initiated by the CSJC this year.

Two-time Indian Open golf champion Chawrasia said: "I hope this award becomes a good luck charm as I get ready for tournaments in Japan, China and England."