SSP Chawrasia bags best pro golfer award at India Golf Awards 2017

Take Solution Golf AwardsNEW DELHI: Defending Indian Open champion SSP Chawrasia bagged the best Pro Male golfer award in the fourth edition of the Take Solutions INDIA GOLF AWARDS at the Roseate in Delhi.

A glittering collection of golfing royalty came together inside an elegant setting for the fourth edition of the bespoke event united the best of business and golf for a memorable evening dedicated to the development of the game in India.

Aditi Ashok and Vani Kapoor shared honours in the Best Pro Female category. Khalin Joshi and Gaurika Bishnoi were recognised as the emerging stars of Indian golf.

Amitabh Kant, the IAS officer at the centre of the “Make in India” campaign and CEO of Niti Ayog presided over the evening, while Sachin Pilot made an emotionally charged address about the role of sport in shaping a young and vibrant India. Former Finance Minister, P Chidambaran was his usual elegant self as he lauded the effort to celebrate golf in India.

The eminent jury, drawn from golf and business worked through a transparent evaluation process, guided by independent advisors Technopak.

Ashok Malik, India's original golf champion and legend was among those attending the event. He hailed the idea of doing a summit and awards ceremony like this year after year to encourage and grow dialogue on the sport.

Ali Sher who received the Best Veteran award said, "It's an honour to be recognised. We have been playing golf for years and delighted to see the recognition for the original heroes of golf"

Chawrasia scored a popular victory in the Hero Indian Open trumping the field on a memorable Sunday in Delhi last summer. The romance of SSP Chawrasia winning the Hero Indian Open and the Manila Masters helped him edgepast Gaganjeet Bhullar to the award. The awards panel was locked in a lengthy deliberation before deciding in favour of Chawrasia. Gaganjeet also had a great season, scoring two Asian Tour victories in a sensational comeback from three years of physical struggle.

The Female Pro was an easier choice. Aditi was a runaway winner on the basis of her forceful rookie season on the Ladies European Tour. She won back to back titles in the Women’s Indian Open and the Qatar Open, besides earning herself a card on the LPGA. Vani Kapoor enjoyed yet another season of success on the WGAI’s Hero Women’s Professional Golf Tour. She was the Order of Merit winner for a third year running.

Over the past year, Khalin Joshi and Gaurika Bishnoi have shown us their talents, clinching memorable victories on the domestic circuit. The two were rewarded for their performances, with the jury recognising them as the best emerging talent in India. To be fair, they had plenty of competition, but the duo just prevailed on the basis of their sustained performances through 2016.

The India Golf Awards are the most prestigious recognition in Indian golf and yet again a strong jury deliberated for long hours before arriving at their choice in each category. Knowledge partners Technopak ensured that the process remained transparent and objective.

The winners included some of the best performing players in the past season as well a selection of awards for corporate honchos and long-time supporters of the game.

RavinderZutshi, Harsh Mehta and HarinderSikka received acknowledgement for their unstinted support to the game in India as Best Corporate Golfers. The game in India would not be sustainable but for the generous support of corporate India.

The Tollygunge Academy was picked for special praise under the Best Golf Academy category. Romit Bose was recognized as the Best Teaching Pro in the country.

Jaypee Greens was awarded the Best Golf Course in the country. Neelam Rudy was the best Celebrity Golfer for 2016. Ali Sher was acknowledged for his services to the game as the Veteran Golfer of 2016.

Aadil Bedi was picked for special mention as a golfer with promise for the future.

The awards are a brainchild of Shaili Chopra who has been at the forefront of this digital initiative to narrate everything golf to a growing number of Indian golf fans. is the primary source of everything golf in India.

“We are delighted yet again to host the fourth edition of the India Golf Awards. It is a privilege and an honour to be the custodians of golf’s honour roll in India. Once again, our panel of golfing experts have delivered us a list of deserving winners and we look forward to serve the sport of golf for several years to come,” said Shaili.

“These awards set new global benchmarks with every passing edition. The very best in the game get the recognition they deserve,” added the founder of these awards.“It’s really unique because it’s here that golfing corporate honchos, celebrities, bureaucrats, national leaders all are rewarded for their game on the same stage as golf's professional maestros from India and the world in a bespoke and stylized ceremony.”

TAKE Solutions has been the main supporter of the awards since inception and continue their relationship as they play their hand in strengthening golf in India through their unflinching commitment to the game. The Vice Chairman HR Srinivasan, who is prolific golfer himself says, “We are proud to be associated with India’s foremost award ceremony recognizing excellence in golf. It is exciting to witness all of golf’s brightest stars as well as corporate supporters of the sport on a single platform. The TAKE Solutions India Golf Awards is truly an emphatic step towards placing Indian golf on the global map.”

List of Award Winners

Best Pro Player: SSP Chawrasia

Best Pro Player: Aditi Ashok

Best Rising Player: Khalin Joshi

Best Rising Player: GaurikaBishnoi

Best Teaching Pro :Romit Bose

Best Golfing CEO: RavinderZutshi, Harsh Mehta, HarinderSikka

Best Golfing Celebrity : Neelam Rudy

Best Golf Academy : Tollygunge

Best Golf Course: Jaypee

Veteran's Award : Ali Sher

Special mention Adil Bedi