Kolkata leg of Mercedes golf meet to be held on Wednesday

golf icon isn 2Kolkata: Over 112 players will battle it out for the top honours in the 17th edition of the Mercedes Trophy at the Royal Calcutta Golf Club (RCGC) here on Wednesday.

The two-day leg coming after the seventh Chennai leg will see four city golfers (two from each day) make it to the National finals to be held at Pune's Oxford Golf Resort from March 15-17.

The tournament so far has seen qualification of 18 golfers from the seven legs held in Pune, Ahmedabad, Mumbai, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Coimbatore and Chennai, respectively.

The 41 winners from the qualifying rounds being held in 12 cities -- Ahmedabad, Bengaluru, Coimbatore, Pune, Chennai, Mumbai, Hyderabad, Jaipur, Chandigarh, Kolkata, Gurugram and New Delhi, will then compete in the National Finals.

Read more: Khalin, Sujjan among top names for PGTI Players Championship as PGTI tees off 2017 season

Three winners from the National Finals will further progress to the Mercedes Trophy World Finals in Stuttgart, Germany, in September.

In order to introduce beginners to the game, Mercedes-Benz will host golf clinics at each round of the tournament, which will be conducted by instructors from the legendary David Leadbetter Golf Academy.