Lakhra wins BMW Golf Cup International 2012

Lakhra wins BMW Golf Cup International 2012New Delhi: BMW India organized the BMW Golf Cup International 2012 in New Delhi on 17 March 2012. BMW India will launch BMW Golf Cup International 2012 across nine cities – Chennai, Bangalore, Mumbai, Pune, Ahmedabad, Delhi, Gurgaon, Chandigarh and Hyderabad. The national final will be held in mid 2012 in the National Capital Region (Gurgaon).

The BMW Golf Cup International 2012 is an amateur golf tournament series designed for customers, prospects and opinion leaders and provides the right mix for an exclusive social interaction.

India is one of 50 participating countries where 100,000 players will compete across 1,000qualifying tournaments. The finalists will then converge at the BMW Golf Cup International 2012 World Final.

Dr. Andreas Schaaf, President, BMW Group India said, “It is with great pride that we introduce BMW Golf Cup International 2012 in India. BMW Golf Cup International has established itself as a leading amateur tournament in the country and seen tremendous success since it started in 2008.

It is an event that our customers and other patrons of the game look forward to every year with enthusiasm and eagerness. In the last few years, the world of amateur golf in India has witnessed progressive development and advancement. Like every year, this year too, we hope to see great success from the participants.”

BMW India dealers will identify amateur golfers amongst BMW owners and prospective buyers who would be interested in participating in the tournament. The tournaments will be held in accordance with the rules of the respective local golf club.

Mr. Yadur Kapur, Director, Deutsche Motoren said, “We are proud to host the BMW Golf Cup International 2012 in New Delhi. BMW Golf Cup International presents us with a great opportunity to enhance our relationship with our customers in a joyous and relaxed atmosphere. A lot of our customers are golf enthusiasts and BMW Golf Cup International provides them the perfect platform to showcase their talent.”

The BMW Golf Cup International 2012 will have three categories, A (for handicaps up to 12), B (for handicaps 13 – 28) and Ladies Category (for handicaps up to 28). The winners, runners-up and second runners-up of the individual handicap categories qualify for the national final. The winners in each of the three handicap categories of the national final qualify to take part in the world final of BMW Golf Cup International 2012.

The winners of the New Delhi tournament are as follows –

Men A


Winner – Col. S.K. Lakhra

Runner Up – Mr. Dinkar Marla

Second Runner Up – Mr. Rohit Jhawar

Men B

Winner – Mr. Ganesh Rana

Runner Up – Mr. D.K. Jain

Second Runner Up – Mr. Satish Lakhina


Longest Drive – Mr. Kabir Advani

Closest to the Pin – Pravir Sharda

Straight Drive – Mr. Sachin Goel