India to compete in the Asia Rugby Championship 2017 at Chinese Taipei

The Societe Generale Indian Mens Rugby XVs team is set to compete at the Asia Rugby Championship – Divison 2 Rugby XVs to be held at the Tainan Municipal Rugby Stadium, Tainan, Taiwan from 15th – 18th November, 2017. The team is supported by Societe Generale, the financial partner of Rugby India and is participating under the aegis of the Indian Rugby Football Union (IRFU), the governing body for the sport of Rugby in India.

A total of four countries from across Asia including Singapore, Thailand, India and hosts Chinese Taipei will vie for top honors at the championships.

Speaking on the occasion Mr. Mahesh MathaiSecretary General of Rugby India said, “We are thankful to the Ministry of Youth Affairs & Sports and to the Sports Authority of India (SAI) for acknowledging our efforts and extending their kind support and facilities to the national team's training camp in preparation for the Asia Rugby Championship 2017 in Chinese Taipei. This support will truly boost our team's morale and encourage them to perform fiercely at the Asian level and bring home accolades. We are confident that the Men’s team will deliver as per expectation and make the country proud ".

India Rugby Team 11The players shortlisted to join the Indian National Training Camp were selected during The Senior National Rugby Sevens Championships (Men & Women) held at Patliputra Stadium in Patna, Bihar on 10th to 13th August, 2017 and the 84th All India & South Asia Rugby XVs Championship which was held at the Calcutta Cricket & Football Club from 7th-14th of October 2017.


The following 25 players are selected from across India to represent the nation at the Asia Rugby Championship in Chinese Taipei.

1)     Mohit Khatri  (Haryana)

2)     Prince Khatri (Haryana)

3)     Neeraj Khatri (Haryana)

4)     Vikas Khatri  (Haryana)

5)     Sourabh Dubal (Haryana)

6)     Deepak Punia (Haryana)

7)     Hitesh Dagar (Delhi)

8)     Bharat Dagar  (Delhi)

9)     Mukesh Mankotia (Delhi)

10)  Bhupendra Bokan (Haryana)

11)  Nitin Dagar (Delhi)

12)  Gautam Dagar (Delhi)

13)  Monu Yadav (Delhi)

14)  Anand Godiwala (Maharashtra)

15)  Pappu Todkar (Maharashtra)

16)  Parvender Singh (Services-SSCB)

17)  Shokendar  (Services- SSCB)

18)  Surinder Singh (Services-SSCB)

19)  Sujai Lama (Services- SSCB)

20)  Suresh Sajwan (Services-SSCB)

21)  Samser Singh (Services –SSCB)

22)  Muna Murmu (Odisha)

23)  Suraj Prasad  (West Bengal)

24)  Suraj Veer Sharma (West Bengal)

25)  Roshan Lobo (Karnataka)


Coach- Mr. Henry Paul, former England Rugby Union player.

Manager- Manas Kumar Jena

Physio- Abdul Wahid Khan Pathan