Carolina Marin, Sameer Verma help Hyderabad Hunters beat Delhi to reach Premier Baminton league semis

Carolina MarinHyderabad Hunters rode a nervy but skillful display from Olympic champion Carolina Marin to enter the semi-finals of the Premier Badminton League here on Thursday, says a report in Hindustan Times.

According to the report, Hyderabad had breezed to a 2-0 lead after winning the first two matches before an inspiring game from Danish player Jan O Jorgensen in the men’s tie, against Rajiv Ouseph, brought Delhi back to the tie.

“Marin however, quite fittingly, dashed Delhi’s hopes by beating Nitchaon Jindapol 15-14, 11-4. It was not an easy win though. Marin had raced to a comfortable 6-1 lead but too many errors saw the Thai draw level at 8-8 before nosing ahead with a point’s lead. From there started a game of nerves as they tried to outdo each other till Jindapol almost looked good to win the battle with a 34-shot rally that gave her the lead at 13-12,” says the report.

According to a report in the Financial Express, starting the proceedings, Sameer Verma fought back from a game down to snuff aside the challenge thrown by young Siril Verma, a silver medallist at 2015 World Junior championship, 8-11 11-3 11-2 in the opening match.

Hong Kong’s Chau Wah and India’s Satwiksairaj then dished out a superlative performance to outclass the famed pair of Jwala Gutta and Russia’s Vladimir Ivanov 11-3 11-4 in mixed doubles to make it 2-0 in favour of Hyderabad Hunters.

China Open champion and World No. 2 Jan O Jorgensen then brought Delhi back into the contest with a dominating 11-5 11-7 win over 2010 Commonwealth Games silver medallist Rajiv Ouseph of England in their Trump Match to level the score 2-2.

According to a report in The Times of India Hyderabad won the inconsequential men's doubles tie 11-9, 13-11 to end the night with a 5-2 win, finishing the league stage fourth in the standings.

In the semi-finals on Saturday, Awadhe Warriors will face Chennai Smashers, while Hyderabad Hunters will take on Mumbai Rockets.