I-League: Dempo Sports Club sign off in style

I-League: Dempo sign off in styleKolkata
: Dempo SC had already landed their fifth I-League title after their last encounter when they played a goalless draw against Kingfisher East Bengal. So the result against Prayag United stayed inconsequential. But the pride of ending with a win was always at stake.


Prayag’s gesture prior to the kick-off was unique. Unlike all other matches, Friday (May 5) was different as both the teams didn’t march onto the field together. Instead, Prayag United players stood and clapped from both sides as Dempo SC led by Climax Lawrence marched onto the ground.


The Guard of Honour happened for the first time in Indian football and Dempo deserved the honour – as much as they deserved to get the lead as early as the 18th minute -- Ranti Martins putting it past rival goalkeeper Abhijit Mondal for his 32nd goal of the League.


The lead was doubled in the 31st minute when midfielder par excellence Climax Lawrence capitalised on defensive lapse to make it 2-0. The pride for which Dempo were playing was never in doubt. Changing over, substitute Koko Sakibu completed the rout in the 87th minute.


Dempo SC finished their campaign with 57 points from 26 matches while Prayag United finished on 42 points from 26 matches.


Minister for Sports, West Bengal, Mr. Madan Mitra and Mr. Kushal Das, General Secretary, All India Football Federation handed the Champions Trophy to Dempo SC. This has been Dempo’s 5th I-League triumph.

By Indian Sports News Network