Delhi Daredevils announce 14 retained players

Delhi Daredevils SquadThe management at Delhi Daredevils announced the retention of the services of 14 players from the squad for their upcoming IPL 2019 season. 

The retained players include Mumbai born 23-year old batsman and Delhi Daredevils’ captain Shreyas Iyer, left-handed wicket-keeper batsman Rishabh Pant, veteran leg-spinner Amit Mishra and right-handed batting prodigy Prithvi Shaw, who recently debuted for India in the test series against the West Indies.

The final retained squad consists of retained Indian players- Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant, Prithvi Shaw, Amit Mishra, Avesh Khan, Harshal Patel, Rahul Tewatia, Jayant Yadav and Manjot Kalra. The overseas contingent includes Colin Munro, Chris Morris, Kagiso Rabada, Sandeep Lamichhane and Trent Boult.

Post this announcement; the players released by the team are Gautam Gambhir, Jason Roy, Junior Dala, Liam Plunkett, Mohammed Shami, Sayan Ghosh, Daniel Christian, Glenn Maxwell, Gurkeerat Singh Mann and Naman Ojha.

The Delhi franchise also traded in Indian International opener Shikhar Dhawan from Sunrisers Hyderabad for the upcoming season.