SevenJackpots Gambling

Steve Smith leading Australian test teamMelbourne: Australia named an unchanged 12-man squad to face Pakistan in the first Test match at Brisbane starting next Thursday, keeping faith in the players that beat South Africa in Adelaide recently.

Australia bounced back in the final Test against South Africa to win by seven wickets following five straight losses.

It forced the resignation of Rodney Marsh as the chairman of selectors and an overhaul of the starting XI, with the hope of kickstarting a new era of Australian cricket under captain Steve Smith.

"We were very pleased with how the team came together in Adelaide after some significant changes following the Tests in Perth and Hobart," interim National Selector Trevor Hohns was quoted as saying by Cricket Australia here on Thursday.

"This is a young group with a lot of promise and we believe all deserve their opportunity again in this upcoming Test."

Batsman Shaun Marsh was not considered for selection as he continues his recovery from the broken finger he sustained in the first Test of the summer against South Africa on his home turf of Perth.

"Shaun has yet to resume batting and will have a follow-up x-ray this week that will be reviewed by a specialist. This will determine when he can resume cricket training," said aupport team physiotherapist Alex Kountouris.

The Australia squad: Steve Smith (captain), David Warner, Jackson Bird, Peter Handscomb, Josh Hazlewood, Usman Khawaja, Nic Maddinson, Nathan Lyon, Matthew Renshaw, Chadd Sayers, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade (wicketkeeper).

SevenJackpots Gambling