India beat Pak to win Asian Champions Trophy

Ordos (China): India beat arch-rivals Pakistan 4-2 on penalties to win the inaugural Asian Champions Trophy in Ordos, China.

Both teams played an attacking game but failed to score and the match went to penalties after 15 minutes of extra time. And it was goalkeeper PR Sreejesh who became a hero by saving two crucial strokes as India defeated Pakistan 4-2 via penalty shootout in a nerve-wrecking final.

Rajpal Singh, Danish Mujtaba, Yuvraj Walmiki and Sarvanjit Singh scored for India in the penalty shootout while Muhammad Rizwan and Waseem Ahmed sounded the board for Pakistan after both the sides were locked goalless in the normal and extra time.

India started the shootout on a wrong note when Pakistan goalkeeper Imran Shah saved the shot from Gurwinder Singh Chandi. Sreejesh then came to the fore with a save off Haseem Abdul Khan. It was then Mujtaba''s turn and he neatly sent the ball past Shah to give India 1-0 lead.

Pakistan equalised when Rizwan scored but Indian captain Rajpal slotted the ball home to give his side 2-1 up. Then came the crucial save by Sreejesh as he stopped Shafqat Rasool from scoring, advancing and taking the shot on the pads.

Yuvraj made it 3-1 and the Pakistan veteran Waseem cut the scores to 3-2 but Sarvanjit''s conversion past Shah ensured India ran out champions.

Earlier in the match, both India and Pakistan had ample opportunities to finish off the match in regulation time. Pakistan earned seven penalty corners to India''s one but they failed to beat the Indian defence and the goalkeeper Sreejesh.