Shankar Das, Abhijit Chadha among others to participate in CG Open 2015

CG Open 2015 Press Conference pictureMumbai: Avantha Group Company CG and the Professional Golf Tour of India (PGTI) on Tuesday announced the schedule for CG Open 2015. The eighth edition of the CG Open will be played at the Bombay Presidency Golf Club, Mumbai, from December 2nd to 5th. The Pro-Am event will be played on December 6th.

The field is set to feature leading Indian professionals such as Shankar Das (reigning Rolex Ranking champion), Abhijit Singh Chadha, Mukesh Kumar, Udayan Mane, Shamim Khan, Om Prakash Chouhan, to name a few. The former CG Open champions contending this year include Harendra Gupta, Mandeo Singh Pathania, Kunal Bhasin from Australia and Ashok Kumar. Abhijit Singh Chadha is the highest ranked player in the field as he currently lies second in the Rolex Ranking. The prominent foreign players in the field besides the Mumbai-based Kunal Bhasin are, Sri Lankans N Thangaraja, Anura Rohana and K Prabagaran, Nepal's Shivaram Shrestha and Bangladesh's Md Zamal Hossain Mollah. The two prominent Mumbai players in the field are Anil Bajrang Mane and Wilson Raj D’Mello.

Speaking on the tournament, Avantha Group Company CG’s CEO & Managing Director, Mr. Laurent Demortier said, “CG Open has taken rapid strides in turning itself into an exclusive and landmark professional golf event in India that brings together some of the best golfing talent in the country. It has been a pleasure to be associated with this sport and see the tournament grow both in stature and the kind of players it attracts. I wish the players the very best and look forward to an exciting game of golf this year too.”

Speaking on the occasion, Mr. Uttam Singh Mundy, Director, PGTI, said, “We are delighted to be back in Mumbai for the 2015 edition of the CG Open, the most lucrative and prestigious championship in the western region of the country. The CG Open has produced some fascinating contests over the last eight years and set the stage for the rise of new talent such as Chikkarangappa S, who won his maiden title at the 2013 edition. The eighth edition of the tournament promises an exciting week of golfing action as Rs. 1 crore is up for grabs with the race for the Rolex Player of the Year title still wide open. We thank CG for their continued support to Indian professional golf through the staging of this event.”

Founded in 1927, the Bombay Presidency Golf Club is one of the most prestigious golf clubs in the country. The course at the BPGC underwent extensive redesign and modifications in 2009. The BPGC has a very demanding course with a large golf-focused member community.