Djokovic beats Murray to win Australian Open title

Novak DjokovicMelbourne: World No. 1 Novak Djokovic became the first man in the Open Era to win three successive Australian Open titles after rallying from behind to defeat No. 3 Andy Murray 6-7(2), 7-6(3), 6-3, 6-2 on Sunday night in Melbourne. Djokovic was presented with the trophy by Andre Agassi.

The Serbian captured his sixth Grand Slam championship. He won his first major title at the Australian Open in 2008 (d. Tsonga) and followed with titles at Melbourne Park in 2011 (d. Murray) and 2012 (d. Nadal) and at Wimbledon (d. Nadal) and the US Open (d. Nadal) in 2011. He is the third man in the Open Era to win four Australian Open titles, joining Agassi and Roger Federer.

"Winning it three [times] in a row, it's incredible," said Djokovic. "It's very thrilling. I'm full of joy right now. It's going to give me a lot of confidence for the rest of the season, that's for sure."

Djokovic improved to an 11-7 record over Murray in their FedEx ATP Head2Head series, avenging the five-set defeat he suffered to the Scot in last year’s US Open final. As well as defeating Murray in the 2011 Australian Open final, he also denied the Dunblane native in a pulsating five-set semi-final clash in Melbourne last year.

In the three-hour, 40-minute final, Djokovic came close to a two-set deficit, but fought back strongly to beat Murray. After surviving a 0/40 deficit in the second game of the second set, the Serb clinched the second-set tie-break and began to distance himself from Murray. Djokovic did not lose serve throughout.