Lakshit, Shreya win singles titles at ACC Tennis

tennisLucknow: Young Lakshit Sood and Shreya Pasricha won the men’s and women’s singles crowns, respectively of the 1st ACC Cup Men’s And Women’s open One Lac (Rs.1, 00,000) Prize Money Tennis Championship-2012 here today.

UP’s third seed Lakshit while playing quite aggressively against his real twins brother top seed Chandril Sood 6-2, 7-5, whereas top seed Shreya of home state brushed aside second seed home mate Damini Sharma also in straights sets 7-5, 3-6,7-6(6) at the BBDUP Badminton Academy Sports Development Society Synthetic Tennis Court here in Gomti Nagar.

The duo of Lakshit Sood and Chandril Sood both from UP’s outplayed Delhi’s Mohammad Shadab Khan and Anubhav Chaudhary 6-2,6-4 to win the men’s doubles title, where as the pair of Shreya Pasricha and / Damini Sharma from Up’s defeated Sanya Madan and Eeshita Pandey 6-2,6-2 in the women’s doubles final.

Lakshit didn’t drop even a single game then to win the title and the top purse of Rs 7800. He also earned 20 AITA points for this win. Unlike the men’s singles final, the women’s singles final witnessed a interesting battle as neither Damini nor Shreya held their serves till 5-all in the first set. Damini lost the next one and then Shreya held her serve to wrest the set at 7-5.

“It was quite tough in the opening set, but in the second I was more confident in hitting,” said Shreya, who collected Rs 5200 and 12 AITA, points in her maiden event in Lucknow.

Chief Guest of the closing ceremony Honorable Justice, U.K Dhawan (Retired) and Guest of Honor Principal Secretary honorable Governor Luv Verma (I.A.S.) gave away the prizes of the winners. Whereas I.G Railway’s Ashutosh Pandey was the special invitee. Besides them, Sunil Kumar Sanwang, Marketing Head ACC cement, officials of Sports Development Society, other senior tennis players, Brigadier A.K Sinah, Satish Behgal, tournament director Nasir, Pawan Sagar and Poonam Sagar were present on this occasion.


Men’s singles: Final Results

Lakshit Sood (UP) (Seed3) bt Chandril Sood (UP) (Seed1) 6-2, 7-5

Women’s singles: Final Results

Shreya Pasricha (UP) (Seed1) bt Damini Sharma (UP) (Seed2) 7-5, 3-6, 7-6(6)

Men’s Double’s: Final Results

Lakshit Sood (UP) (Seed3) / Chandril Sood (UP) (Seed1) bt Mohammad Shadab Khan (Dli) /Anubhav Chaudhary (Dli) 6-2, 6-4

Women’s Double’s: Final Results

Shreya Pasricha (UP) (Seed1) / Damini Sharma (UP) (Seed2) bt Sanya Madan (UP) (Seed 4) / Eeshita Pandey (UP) 6-2,6-2

By Indian Sports News Network