India's Davis Cup team for tie against NZ announced

Vishnu VardhanNew Delhi: All India Tennis Federation selection committee has announced the Davis Cup team for the Asia/Oceania Group I tie in Chandigarh.
Olympian Vishnu Vardhan, Yuki Bhambri, Sanam Singh and Saketh Myneni are the players who would be representing India in the upcoming team event against New Zealand from September 14th.

Divij Sharan and N. Sri Ram Balaji have been named as the reserves.

The team filled with youngsters was chosen after star Indian players Leander Paes and Somdev Devvarman made themselves unavailable while the duo of Mahesh Bhupathi and Rohan were dropped following their denial to team up with Paes in 2012 London Olympics.

AITA had earlier said that they decided on to choose young players as it was time to build a strong junior team.

The team was selected after the selection committee had a discussion with S.P Misra, India’s Davis Cup captain.

By Indian Sports News Network