Martina-Sania start 2016 with a bang, win Brisbane Open title

Mirza Hingis BrisbaneBrisbane: After dominating the world WTA doubles circuit in 2015, Martina Hingis and Sania Mirza started their 2016 campaign in style, as the World No. 1 Indo-Swiss pair got the better of Angelique Kerber and Andrea Petkovic 7-5, 6-1 to win the Brisbane Open title, here on Saturday.

This was Martina and Sania’s 10th WTA doubles title together and they have now won 26 matches in a row - the longest doubles winning streak in 22 years.

It’s wasn’t an easy final for the Swiss-Indian duo as Kerber and Petkovic, came back from a 2-0 deficit to make it 4-2 lead. But the No.1-seeded pair, managed to win 11 of the last 13 games of the match to win in straight sets, 7-5, 6-1.
Meanwhile, Hingis and Mirza's winning 26 matches winning streak is the longest doubles winning streak since Gigi Fernández and Natasha Zvereva won 28 matches in a row together in 1994.

Hingis and Mirza also hit double digit WTA doubles titles together - Indian Wells, Miami, Charleston, Wimbledon, US Open, Guangzhou, Wuhan, Beijing and WTA Finals in 2015, and now Brisbane.