All set for new season of ITPL

The IPTL 2015 is finally here!

The popular tennis league which began in November 2014 with the inaugural match between Novak Djokovic and Roger Federer, is all set for the new season. This time last year’s IPTL teams- Philippine Mavericks, Indian Aces, UAE Royals and Singapore Slammers- are returning for another shot at being champions. This year, there's a new team, the Japan Warriors, joining in the competition.

The new team on the IPTL block -- the Japan Warriors -- have a lot to do. But, they’re giving it their best shot with Japanese star player and last year’s US Open finalist, Kei Nishikori and former World No.1 Maria Sharapova, leading the rest of the players.

Defending their IPTL title, the Indian Aces are now headed by former World No.1 Rafael Nadal, who missed out last year due to injury. Also returning to the squad are Sania Mirza and Rohan Bopanna, hoping to replicate last year’s success. This year’s other new addition is Agnieszka Radwanska, a subtle force on court.

Last year’s finalists, the Singapore Slammers return, with a daunting line-up headed by current World No.1, Novak Djokovic. Djokovic, who is the best player in the world right now, can comfortably defeat most of the players in the league with his aggressive style of play and one of the best backhands in the game today. Nick Kyrgios also returns and is joined by the Spaniard Carlos Moya.

The Manila Mavericks return with a new name and a roster of bigger stars than last time. The Philippine Mavericks, as they are now known, are led by Serena Williams, the reigning World No.1 and arguably the most consistent winner. It is hard to imagine any player in the league being able to defeat her in the Women’s Singles matches. The vastly underrated, but talented, Frenchmen Jo-Wilfried Tsonga and Richard Gasquet head the men’s lineup along with veteran Mark Philippousis.

The final IPTL team, the UAE Royals, has one of the most impressively star- studded lineups with Roger Federer leading the squad. He is joined by current US Open champion, Marin Cilic; the talented and increasingly confident Tomas Berdych; and veteran Grand Slam winner, Goran Ivanisevic. Ana Ivanovic, who returns to the International Premier Tennis League after changing teams, and Kristina Mladenovic, a Grand Slam mixed doubles champion with teammate Daniel Nestor, are the female players to watch for.