ICC ODI rankings: Australia retain No. 1 position, India at No. 3 spot

dhonileads1World champion Australia has retained its number-one ranking on the MRF Tyres ICC ODI Team Rankings following its 58 runs victory over the West Indies in the final of the tri-series in Barbados on Sunday, but South Africa has dropped behind India in fourth place after it failed to reach the final.

Australia had started the series on 124 points and has finished on 123 points, to lead second-ranked New Zealand by 10 points. However, South Africa’s three loses and one no-result has meant it has dropped two points to join India on 110 points, but behind Mahendra Singh Dhoni’s side when the points are calculated beyond the decimal point.

The biggest gainer from the tri-series is the West Indies, which has retained its seventh ranking but more importantly it has gained six points to open up a seven-point advantage over eighth-ranked Pakistan. If this is read in the context that England plus seven highest-ranked sides on the MRF Tyres ICC ODI Team Rankingsas on 30 September 2017 will qualify directly for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019, then this is a significant improvement.

Sri Lanka and England, which are in the midst of their ODI series, have also swapped places after three matches with England moving ahead of Sri Lanka. The first game had ended in a thrilling tie, England won the second match by 10 wickets, while the third was abandoned due to rain. The final two matches of the series will be played on 29 June and 2 July, which means England has an opportunity to strengthen its fifth position while Sri Lanka has a chance to regain its fifth spot.

Rank   Team              Points

1          Australia         123 (-1)

2          New Zealand   113

3          India                110

4          South Africa   110 (-2)

5          England           104 (+1)

6          Sri Lanka        104 (-)

7          Bangladesh     98

8          West Indies     94 (+6)

9          Pakistan          87

10        Afghanistan    51

11        Zimbabwe       46

12        Ireland             41