Panchkula Golf Club wins Inter-club Golf Championship

golf icon isn 4Panchkula: The Inter-club Golf Championship was played between SEPTA (Chandimandir) and Panchkula Golf Club with a total of 99 golfers representing both the clubs. This tournament was played at the Panchkula Golf Club on April 10 on a Stableford Format with 3/4ths Handicap. 10 best cards of each team were taken to determine the winning team. In addition there were individual prizes as well.

Raghavendra Rao, vice president of PGC gave away the prizes for the closest-to-pin contest which was won by Umesh Jain, The longest drive which was won by Anant Ahlawat and an extraordinary “Eagle” which was hit by Maj. Amit Kanwar.

Padmashree Jeev Milkha Singh who was the guest of honour at the tournament gave away three prizes. He gave the prize to the winning lady golfer won by Shalini Saron, runners-up lady golfer Shilpa Das, and the senior most golfer of the tournament TC Chopra aged 82.

Lt. Gen KJ Singh, Army Commander, gave away the trophies to the best overall individual winner Lt. Col. Sanjay Kumar followed by Ankit Bansal at the runners-up position.

DS Dhesi, Chief Secretary, Government of Haryana and President of PGC presented the WINNING TROPHY to the 10 best golfers of the winning team of Panchkula Golf Club. Panchkula Golf Club won with a total of 420 points beating SEPTA (Chandimandir) who could manage only 380 points.

General Manager of PGC Col. AS Dhillon said that this tournament would be a regular feature at the club every year.