Shankar Das leads team to Pro-Am win at Avantha Masters 2012

Gurgaon: Two-time winner on the 2011 PGTI calendar, Shankar Das announced his presence amid a sea of global golf stars here today, by leading his team of Chandanjit Arneja, Venkat Sunderam and Simarjeet Singh to a narrow one-point victory in the morning edition of the Avantha Masters 2012 Pro-Am.  The event was played on a Medal format and the winning team finished with a score of minus 23.

The Pro-Am teed off the Euro 1.8 million Avantha Masters 2012, which being staged at the Arnold Palmer designed DLF Golf & Country Club this week.
Rahil Gangjee who is considered a serious title contender this week, and his team of Ateet Gaur, Rahul Khanna and Capt. Cheema finished a close second at -22.  American, Barry Henson and his team of Raj Jain, Sanjiv Rai and Astha Mittl finished third at minus 20.

Abhishek Misra registered the ‘Longest Drive’ on hole 5 with a stupendous 330 yard effort from the tee while the ‘Closest-to-Pin’ contest on hole 16, was won by Ravi Chopra whose shot came to rest eight feet, two inches form the cup.