Hero-WGAI Tour: Smriti starts favourite in third leg

Smriti Mehra wins Hero Women’s Pro Golf TourBangalore: Smriti Mehra, winner last week in the second leg of the Hero-WGAI Pro Tour will start as the strong favourite for the third leg in the Southern Swing of the WGAI Tour. The three-day event begins at the par-72 Prestige Golfshire Golf Club on Tuesday and the event runs through Thursday. It carries a purse of Rs. Five lakhs and Smriti will be hoping to close the gap between her and Sharmila this week.

Sharmila will be skipping the event as she is planning to play in the Austrian Open on the Ladies European Tour. Sharmila won in the first leg, and Smriti took the honours in the second leg.

Smriti, who has staged a fine comeback in the final round to beat Sharmila Nicollet in the final round last week will go out in the first group. The 40-year-old veteran will be the player to watch out for this week.

Stephen Havrilla, General Manager of the Perthshire Golf Club, said, “The Prestige Golfshire Club is honored to be hosting some of the best Lady Indian Golf Professionals in the country for the Hero Women’s Professional Golf Association Event this week. The golf course will be a true test of the players ability and we look forward to an exciting finish. We want to wish all the ladies the best of luck and to enjoy the golf course and facilities during the week.”

Also looking for a good finish and a shot at her maiden professional title will be Vani Kapoor, who lost in a play-off to Sharmila in the play-off last month in KGA at Bangalore.

Nalini Singh Siwach and Neha Tripathi, who also plan to play in the Ladies European Tour Q-School this year, will also be attempting to grab their first title of the new season, which will have 12 events.

Though Smriti and Sharmila have both won one event each, Sharmila is ahead on Money list because the opening event of the Tour carried Rs. 10 lakhs as the prize purse.

Tee times for Round 1
9:30 AM: Priya Puri / Smriti Mehra / Ankita Tiwana
9:40 AM: Nalini Singh Siwach / Rani Sonti / Nikita Arjun (A)
9:50 AM: Nikki Ponappa / Vani Kapoor / Saaniya Sharma
10:00 AM: Nalini Singh Shraddhanjali Singh Neha Tripathi
10:10 AM: Ankita Kedlaya (A)/ Mita Gowande/ Aditi Ashok (A)
10:20 AM: Suchitra Ramesh (A) / Preetinder Kaur / Pallavi Jain


By Indian Sports News Network