41-yr-old-Anrurag Thakur becomes BCCI president, Ajay Shirke takes over as hony secretary

Anurag ThakurMumbai: Anurag Thakur has been unanimously elected as the new BCCI President at the Special General Meeting held at the Cricket Centre, Mumbai on May 22, 2016. Thakur’s tenure as BCCI President will extend till 2017.

Thakur, 41, was endorsed by all the six units of East zone - Cricket Association of Bengal, National Cricket Club, Odisha Cricket Association, Tripura Cricket Association, Assam Cricket Association and Jharkhand Cricket Association.

Maharashtra Cricket Association (MCA) President Ajay Shirke has replaced Thakur as the next Hony. Secretary.

Meanwhile, many cricketers and politicians congratulated Thakur on Twitter: