Cricketers Rohit Sharma and Ajinkya Rahane receive Arjuna Award from Sports Minister

rohit sharma 26New Delhi: The Minister of State (Independent Charge) for Youth Affairs & Sports, Vijay Goel here today conferred Arjuna Awards to cricketers Rohit Sharma and Ajinkya Rahane in a function held at Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium. 

Rohit Sharma was conferred Arjuna Award for the year 2015 and Ajinkya Rahane for the year 2016. Sharma and Rahane could not receive the Arjuna Awards from the President of India earlier, as they were participating in international tournaments.

Speaking on the occasion Goel said that while there is no doubt that cricket is among the most popular game in India, the current government under the leadership of Prime Minister Narendra Modi is committed to promote indigenous and other sports as well. He said the recent success of Athletes at Paralympics 2016 has made every Indian proud.

The Arjuna Awards, instituted in 1961, are given to sportspersons for consistently outstanding performance for four years preceding the year of award and who have also shown qualities of leadership, sportsmanship and a sense of discipline. The awardees are given a statuette, a certificate, ceremonial dress and award money of Rs. 5 lakh.