Dazzling Deuces wins 3rd PTL title beating Baseline Bombers

Dazzling-Deuces-the-winners-Premier-Tennis-LeaguePune: Dazzling Deuces carried on with the momentum they picked up in their last two hot-competed league matches to comprehensive beat Baseline Bombers 24-14 to win the grand title at the 3rdAmanora Premier Tennis League here on Wednesday.

​ ​​The winners were presented with a cheque of Rs. 3,50,000 and the runners up with a cheque of Rs. 2,00,000. Vijay Sundar Prashant, Ankita Raina and Leander Paes were presented with a bicycle by Pravin Patil of Giant ​Starkenn.​

In the five-match rubber that was expected to go the distance, Dazzling Deuces made mockery of Baseline Bombers strength as they kept winning the matches after another to leave no space for the Bombers to try and make a comeback.

At the end of the fourth rubber, the mixed doubles match between Christopher Marquis and Shweta Rana and Kedar Shah and Prarthana Thombare, Deuces led 24-14 leaving the fifth match, the men’s double tie, inconsequential.

Both the teams decided to let go the men’s doubles match between Jeevan Neduncheziyan and Kaza Sharma and Bombers pair of Saketh Myneni and Rupesh Roy.

It was surely a heartbreak for Baseline Bombers, who began splendidly by winning first three league matches and qualified with a match to go, to lose so easily.

Given that Bombers has beating Deuces in the league, a keen contest was in the offing, but it was not to be.

Dazzling Deuces kept it very simple after Ankita Raina provided them a perfect start by beating Rashmi Teltumbde 6-2.

Ankita was tentative at the start, but gained confidence as the match wore on. Rashmi’s top-spin returns caught Ankita stranded on one side of the court quite a few times, but the Baseline Bombers player struggled to maintain consistency in her shot making.

Rashmi even sent down quite a few aces, but then she lost her steam midway through and gave up tad too easily.

Mohit Mayur, the man who ruffled a few feathers with his impressive wins, came out firing aces and clean winners to subdue ‘best male player’ Vijay Sundar Prashant 6-4.

Much was expected from Saketh Myneni, but Jeevan had other ideas as he stuck to his serves to take the match into tie-break and then won it to give his team a crucial 18-11 lead.

Then it was time for Christopher Marquis and Shweta Rana to find that winning touch they sorely missed all though the past five days. The two combined well and held their serves before scoring 6-3 win that sealed the PTL trophy in their favour.



Dazzling Deuces beat Baseline Bombers 24-14

Ankita Raina bt Rashmi Teltumbde 6-2

Mohit Mayur bt Vijay Sindar Prashant 6-4

Jeevan Neduncheziyan bt Saketh Myneni 6-5

Christopher Marquis and Shweta Rana bt Kedar Shah and Prarthana Thombare 6-3