Maharashtra women dominate medal tally on Day One of 70th Glenmark Senior National Aquatic Championship

Glenmark Senior National Aquatic ChampionshipMumbai: The first day of 70th Glenmark Senior National Aquatic Championship event witness exuberant top swimming talent from 25 states getting ready for the big event. For Maharashtra, women swimmers dominated the first day of the competition for the state.

Jyotsna Pansare who trains at Glenmark Aquatic Foundation won the first gold for Maharashtra in the 50m butterfly for women with a time of 29.27. Avantika Chawan made it 2 for Maharashtra winning the silver with a time of 29.54 while Damini K Gowda of Karnataka with a time of 29.62.

The last event of the day the 4*100m freestyle relay for women saw Rayna Saldanha, Jyotsna Pansare, Avankita Chawan and Monique Gandhi join forces together to win the second gold of the day for Maharashtra with a time of 4:07.27. Karnataka finished second with a time of 04:11.47 while Bengal won Bronze with a time of 4:21.90.
Monique Gandhi won the first medal for Maharashtra at the 70th Glenmark Senior National Aquatic Championships. Monique won silver in the 400m Women’s Freestyle with a time of 04:41.02. She was beaten to the Gold by Olympian Shivani Kataria of Haryana with a time of 04:32.99. Shruti Mahalingam of Tamil Nadu won bronze with a time of 04:41.86.

Rayna Saldahna who trains at the Glenmark Aquatic Foundation in Mumbai won the second silver for Maharashtra in the 200 Indiaviual Medley for Women with a time of 02:30.34. Sayani Ghosh of Bengal won gold with a time of 2:25.22. Shraddha Sudhir of Karnataka claimed the bronze with a time of 02:30.75.
Yuga Birnale of Maharashtra won the first bronze for Maharashtra in the keenly contested 100m backstroke for Women. She won bronze with a time of 1:08.19 edging out Rayna Saldanha. The Event was won by Manaa Patel of Gujarat with a time of 1:05.28 while Shreyanti Pan of Bengal claimed silver with a time of 1:08.05.

Saurabh Sangevar of Railways won the first event of the day the 400m Freestyle for men with a time of 4:02.70. Ananad AS of Services claimed silver while Avinash Mani of Karnataka claimed bronze. Sanu Debnath of Railways won the Second gold for Railways in the 200m IM for men with a time of 2:08.54 while Arvind Mani won his first medal of the day a silver with a time of 2:09.29 while Likhith S.P. took the third place.

Madhu P.S. of Services smashed his own National record in the 100m backstroke with a new time of 57.85 seconds. Aaron Dsouza of Railways won silver with 58.91 seconds while the bronze was claimed by Arvind Mani of Karnataka won his second bronze with a time of 59.06.