National Road Cycling: Kerala are Champions

Pune: Kerala cyclists pipped Karnataka to emerge overall champions in the 16th National Road Cycling Championship that ended here in Pune.
Both states finished with identical 43 points, but Kerala topped by winning five gold medals as compared to four by Karnataka.

In the three sections (senior junior and sub-junior) contested by both men/ women/ boys and girls, both states won two sections each. Kerala topped the women’s and junior girls section, whereas Karnataka dominated the sub-junior boys and girls sections.  

Host’s Maharashtra ended the championship bettering their previous National’s performance by winning 5 gold 1 silver 3 bronze.

The final count helped Maharashtra claim the Junior Boys Championship totaling 16 points, while the girls finished runners-up with 5 points.

Maharashtra’s gold medals came from Deepali Shildhankar (Girls, Under-19 Individual Team Trial), Abhinandan Bhosale (Boys, Under-19 Individual Team Trial) and Rutuja Satpute (Girls Under-17 Individual Team Trial) and Boys U-19 Team Time Trial. The fifth gog medal came in the Senior section through Husein Korbu (Ordinary Cycle race).

The lone silver came from the Girls Under-19 Team Time Trial team.

The three bronze medals was claimed by Maninder Balhara (Boys Under-19 Individual Time Trial), Chaidrali HP (Girls Under-15 Individual Time Trial) and Madhura Waykar (Girls Under-13 Individual Time Trial).


Boys, Under-17, 18-Km Individual Team Trial: 1-Dilawar (Haryana; 26 minutes 24.78 secs); 2-Paigamber Nadaf (Karnataka; 27:33.07 mins); 3-Pawan (Haryana; 27:36.52s)

Girls, Under-15, 9-Km Individual Team Trial: 1-Seema Adgal (Karnataka; 16 minutes 07.62 secs), 2-TManorama Devi (Manipur; 16:10.02 mins); 3-Chaidrali HP (Maharashtra; 16:32.83 mins)


Men: 1-Services Sports Control Board (16 points); 2-Bihar (9 points)
Women: 1-Kerala (17 points); 2-Rajasthan (8 points)

Junior, Boys: 1-Maharashtra (16 points); 2-Haryana (7 points)
Junior, Girls: 1-Kerala (6 points); 2-Maharashtra (5 points)

Sub Junior, Boys: 1-Karnataka (20 points); 2-Haryana (14 points)
Sub Junior, Girls: 1-Karnataka (18 points); 2-Kerala (15 points)