Dhoni to lead India against Zimbabwe in ODI, T20; Virat Kohli and other seniors rested


Mumbai: MS Dhoni will lead 15-member Indian team in their upcoming tour of Zimbabwe, which was announced by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Monday.

India and Zimbabwe are set to play three One-day Internationals (ODIs) and three Twenty20 Internationals (T20Is), starting next month. The matches will be played at the Harare Sports Club. The six matches will be played over 12 days, starting with the first ODI on June 11 and the last T20 on June 22.

Except Dhoni almost every other senior player, including Virat Kohli, has been rested as after this series India will play 17 Test matches on a trot and most probably the next time Dhoni would wear the Indian Jersey against England when the tour India during December .
India has been touring Zimbabwe in the beginning of their new season just after the end of Indian Premier League for some time now. In 2015, Rahane-led India defeated the hosts 3-0 in the ODIs before tying the T20Is 1-1 after Zimbabwe finally registered a win in that series by winning the second T20I.

India always sends a second-tier team for the Zimbabwe tour with almost all the senior players of the side being rested.

India’s 15-man squad vs Zimbabwe: MS Dhoni (c & wk), KL Rahul, Faiz Fazal, Manish Pandey, Ambati Rayudu, Karun Nair, Akxar Patel, Rishi Dhawan, Jasprit Bumrah, Barinder Sran, Mandeep Singh, Kedar Jhadav, Jaidev Unakdat, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jayant Yadav