Vani Kapoor to make first appearance on Hero WPG Tour this season

Vani Kapoor 26Hyderabad: Vani Kapoor will make her first appearance on the domestic circuit this season when she tees up at the 11th Leg of the Hero Women’s Pro Golf Tour at the Hyderabad Golf Club on Wednesday. With nice and pleasant weather, the golfers will have ideal conditions, though they may have to contend with the slight breeze that often blows in the city and the forecast of rain. The players got to experience the conditions in the practice round on Tuesday.

The 25-year-old Delhi golfer, who was dominant on the domestic Tour before she began focusing on the international circuit, had actually entered the 10th Leg of the Tour too, but had to pull out because of muscle spasms and a neck niggle. She is however fit and raring to go. “I was out due to injury and am playing an event after two months. However, the injury was not serious and I am fine and looking forward to getting back to action,” said Kapoor. “The domestic circuit of the Hero WPGT has become very competitive with good scores and close tussle and I am keen to experience that once again.”

Vani will tee off with Gursimar Badwal and Oviya Reddi ay 9.10 am.

The 11th leg of the Tour carries a purse of Rs.9 lakhs and will feature 24 players including two amateurs, Sneha Singh and Shreya Pal.

Ridhima DIlawari, the only three-time winner this season, alongwith Gaurika Bishnoi is also in the field, though Tvesa Malik is not playing this week.

Some of the other stars like Diksha Dagar and Aditi Ashok are playing this week at the ASI Ladies Scottish Open. Astha Madan is also not playing in Hyderabad this week.

The last event was held four weeks ago in Bengaluru with Amandeep Drall winning her first title of the season. Gaurika Bishnoi was second. Both of them are in the field this week.

Tee times for Round 1, Leg 11, Hero Women’s Pro Golf Tour, Hyderabad Golf Club:

8:30 AM: Shriya Vivek, Neha Tripathi, Afshan Fatima;

8:40 AM: Komal Chaudhary, Anousha Tripathi, Ridhima Dilawari;

8:50 AM: Sonam Chugh, Gurjot Badwal, Sneha Singh (A);

9:00 AM: Gauri Karhade, Shreya Pal (A), Siddhi Kapoor;

9:10 AM: Gursimar Badwal, Oviya Reddi, Vani Kapoor;

9:20 AM: Suchitra Ramesh, Anisha Agarwalla, Amandeep Drall;

9:30 AM: Gaurika Bishnoi, Jyotsana Singh, Ishvari Prasanna;

9:40 AM: Ananya Datar, Khushi Khanijau, Tavleen Batra;