India finish second behind Australia in ICC Test rankings before April 1 cut-ff date

Steve Smith leading Australian test teamDubai: Australia has regained the prestigious ICC Test Mace and has also won a cash award of $1million after winning the Christchurch Test by seven wickets, which has given it a 2-0 series win against New Zealand.

The result means Australia has finished two points ahead of India on 112 points in the final series before the 1 April cut-off date. Steve Smith will receive the Mace and the cash award on behalf of his team in a ceremony to be held at a later date.

This is the eighth time Australia has finished as the number-one ranked Test side at the annual cut-off date since the inception of the current rankings system in 2003. It had earlier topped the table each year from 2003 to 2009, before India claimed number-one spots in 2010 and 2011. England ended as the number-one ranked side in 2012 before South Africa completed a hat-trick by retaining the top spot from 2013 to 2015.

India, by virtue of finishing second, will collect $500K, while South Africa will pocket $200K and Pakistan $100K after claiming third and fourth positions, respectively.

It is a double delight for Smith’s men who had earlier topped the MRF Tyres ICC ODI Team Rankings at the annual cut-off date. It had finished comfortably ahead of second-placed New Zealand, followed by India, South Africa, Sri Lanka and England.

ICC Test Rankings(as of 24 February, after the conclusion of New Zealand-Australia series)


1          Australia          112

2          India                110

3          South Africa   109

4          Pakistan           106

5          England           102

6          New Zealand  96

7          Sri Lanka         89

8          West Indies     76

9          Bangladesh     47

10        Zimbabwe       05

MRF Tyres ICC ODI Rankings(as of 24 February)


1          Australia          126

2          New Zealand  114

3          India                113

4          South Africa   112

5          Sri Lanka         104

6          England           101

7          Bangladesh     97

8          Pakistan           87

9          West Indies     86

10        Afghanistan    47

11        Ireland             46

12        Zimbabwe       45