Pro Kabaddi League: Bengal Warriors rout Jaipur Pink Panthers 34-20

Jaipur Pink Panthers Sonu Narwal hemmed in by rivals Bengal Warriors in Match 21 of the Star Sports Pro Kabaddi season 3KOLKATA: Bengal Warriors scored their third victory in four outings at home to leap to the top of the points table with 26 points in the Season 3 of the Star Sports Pro Kabadi League at the Netaji Subhash Indoor Stadium on Wednesday. They coasted to an easy 34-20 victory over the Jaipur Pink Panthers who seemed to be clawless and clueless on the day in the absence of their star raider Jasvir Singh who is nursing an injury. The losers remain in fifth place with 11 points in five matches with two wins.

The credit for today’s win should go to the cool Nitin Tomar who is growing in stature in every match. He had a match tally of 9 raid points with one tackle point. As usual the Kolkata defence of Girish Ernak, Bajirao Hodage and captain Nilesh Shinde played an important role to negate the threat of the lanky Sonu Narwal who is short of form this season. His final tally of 7 raid points swelled because he was given easy bonus points by the rivals towards the end.

Girish Ernak who changed over from Patna Pirates is fast becoming a good left corner and the rival raiders, better watch out for this not so well-built man who is gifted with a superb sense of timing and tremendous mental strength.

The tempo of the match never rose beyond the pedestrian in the first half as Bengal Warriors led 10-9 at the break. Sonu had a couple of fruitful raids and so did Nitin Tomar.

There was nothing worth of note even in the half but for two all-outs scored by the winners and a super raid by Jang Kun Lee that fetched three points to up the score to 32-16. Rajesh Narwal who strove hard got a super tackle on substitute Shyam Kumar Sah in the last minute of play.

Star Sports Pro Kabaddi 2016 Points Table
No. Team Played Won Lost Points
1 Bengal Warriors 6 5 1 26
2 Patna Pirates 5 5 0 25
3 Telugu Titans 6 3 3 17
4 U Mumba 5 3 2 15
5 Jaipur Pink Panthers 5 2 3 11
6 Bengaluru Bulls 6 2 4 11
7 Puneri Paltan 3 1 2 7
8 Dabang Delhi K.C. 6 0 6 2