Golf: Yashas Chandra wins 11th Delhi NCR Cup

Yashas Chandra right who won the Delhi NCR Cup along with Shubham Narain winner of the Delhi State ChampionshipNew Delhi: Yashas Chandra held on to his nerves and drained a 15 footer birdie putt on the 18th hole while avoiding a play-off and emerging as the new champion of the 11th edition of the Delhi NCR Cup that concluded at the Delhi Golf Club here on Friday.

Bangalore lad Yashas who trailed the overnight leader and citymate Jaibir Singh by a couples of shots, today signed for a card of two-over par 74 for a overall total of 7-over 295 and won by a stoke over Amir Khan of Rourkee who had bridged the gap with a final effort of even par-72.

Aalaap I.L finished third at 298 while overnight leader Jaibir had to share the fourth spot along with Tapendra Ghai and Shubham Narain at 299. Incidentally, Shubham won the Delhi State Championship which was held concurrently. 14-year-old Manav Bais brought in the best card of the day with a 1-under 71 and was placed seventh overall.

The team of veteran Simarjeet Singh and Jaibir Singh won the Team Championship while Gagan Verma and Jaiveer Atwal were the runners-up.

Jaibir, the overnight leader looked out of form as he lost four shots in a space of three holes before losing one more on the ninth to take the turn at 5-over. Yashas also met a similar fate when he lost three strokes in four holes (first five holes) but salvaged the situation by making birdies on the seventh and the ninth. It was on the back nine when Amir Khan made two birdies against a lone bogey to enter the club house with a level par round of 72 that, Yashas, having lost two shots in three holes (bogeys on 14th and 16th), was now tied with Amir.

The 21-year-old with a gun to his head, had to save a stroke to avoid the play-off which he did it in style to wear the crown. “I am very happy with the result although not with the game. It was a touch course as the greens were unpredictable,” said the champion while dedicating the victory to his parents.

Top scores (after 72 holes)

295 Yashas Chandra (76, 72, 73, 74); 296 Amir Khan (77, 75, 72, 72); 298 Aalaap I.L (73, 77, 71, 77); 299 Tapendra Ghai (75, 77, 74, 73), Shubham Narain (75, 74, 73, 77), Jaibir Singh (74, 73, 72, 80); 300 Manav Bais (75, 79, 75, 71); 301 Shivnaren Srinivasan (78, 77, 73, 73); 302 Anant Ahlawat (75, 78, 76, 73); 303 Rohan Dhole Patil (78, 75, 77, 73), Yuvraj Sandhu (75, 78, 75, 75)