At Rs 15 crore, Virat Kohli is highest-paid cricketer in IPL; Dhoni, Dhawan get Rs 12.5 crore

At Rs 15 crore, Virat Kohli is highest-paid cricketer in IPLIndia Test captain Virat Kohli is the highest-paid cricketer in the Indian Premier League (IPL), according to the salary figures released by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), on Friday, says a report in Calcutta Telegraph, adding that Kohli's actual salary with the Royal Challengers Bangalore was listed as Rs 15 crore, while the purse deduction amount from the franchise was Rs 12.5 crore in the list put up by the BCCI on its website.

“Mahendra Singh Dhoni, for long believed to be the most expensive IPL cricketer, will be paid Rs 12.5 crore, which is the same as his purse deduction by the Pune franchise. The RP-Sanjiv Goenka Group-owned Pune franchise bought Dhoni in a draft of players who were part of the suspended Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals franchises. Shikhar Dhawan of Sunrisers Hyderabad will also get the same amount as Dhoni,” says the report.

Meanwhile, a report in The New Indian Express says that with the Justice Lodha Committee set to file its report on Monday in the Supreme Court recommending changes to the BCCI’s constitution and manner of functioning, the cricket board on Friday for the first time released the actual salary details of retained players by the IPL franchises.

Here are the details of Salary Purse Deduction and Actual Salary of the Retained Players as per the BCCI website.

Sr. No Team Player Country Purse Deduction (INR) Actual Salary (INR)
1 KXIP David Miller South Africa 125,000,000.00 50,000,000.00
2 KXIP Manan Vora India 40,000,000.00 3,500,000.00
3 KKR Gautam Gambhir India 125,000,000.00 100,000,000.00
4 KKR Sunil Narine West Indies 95,000,000.00 80,000,000.00
5 MI Rohit Sharma India 125,000,000.00 115,000,002.00
6 MI Keiron Pollard West Indies 95,000,000.00 97,000,000.00
7 MI Lasith Malinga Sri Lanka 75,000,000.00 81,000,000.00
8 MI Harbhajan Singh India 55,000,000.00 80,000,000.00
9 MI Ambati Rayudu India 40,000,000.00 60,000,000.00
10 RCB Virat Kohli India 125,000,000.00 150,000,000.00
11 RCB A B deVillers South Africa 95,000,000.00 95,000,000.00
12 RCB Chris Gayle West Indies 75,000,000.00 84,000,000.00
13 SRH Shikhar Dhawan India 125,000,000.00 125,000,000.00
14 Team Pune M S Dhoni India 125,000,000.00 125,000,000.00
15 Team Pune Ajinkya Rahane India 95,000,000.00 80,000,000.00
16 Team Pune R Ashwin India 75,000,000.00 75,000,000.00
17 Team Pune Steven  Smith Australia 55,000,000.00 40,000,000.00
18 Team Pune Faf du Plessis South Africa 40,000,000.00 47,500,000.00
19 Team Rajkot Suresh Raina India 125,000,000.00 95,000,000.00
20 Team Rajkot Ravindra Jadeja India 95,000,000.00 55,000,000.00
21 Team Rajkot Brendon McCullum New Zealand 75,000,000.00 32,500,000.00
22 Team Rajkot James Faulkner Australia 55,000,000.00 51,000,000.00
22 Team Rajkot Dwayne Bravo West Indies 40,000,000.00