Indian Sports News

Thursday, Oct 02nd

Last update01:11:11 AM GMT

You are here  Home » Racing

Raid-de-Himalaya: Rana, Naik crowned champions

E-mail Print

raid-de-himalaya-14thLeh: The 15th Maruti Suzuki Raid de Himalaya, the most exciting motorsport event in India, culminated in Leh after travelling over 1800 kms over 6 days which included the highest motorable passes and inhospitable sub zero temperatures.

Suresh Rana/Ashwin Naik driving a Maruti Suzuki Grand Vitara were crowned champions in the X-Treme 4W category. Rana has won this coveted trophy for a ninth time, and second time with Ashwin Naik as co-driver. He had an overall timing of 9.46.23 Hrs over 6 days. Sanjay Agarwal/Shiv Prakash driving a Maruti Suzuki Gypsy finished as first runner up with cumulative timing of 10.10.35 Hrs while Harpreet Bawa/Parminder Thakur were second runner up having clocked 10.11.23 Hrs.

Text Box: 15th Maruti Suzuki Raid-de-Himalaya Winners • X-Treme 4W – Suresh Rana/Ashwin Naik • Adventure Trial 4W – Jagmeet Gill/Chandan Sen • X-Treme 2W – Helmut Frauwallner • X-Treme (Alpine) – Sajan Preet Singh • X-Treme (Scooters) – Kunal Rao Jagmeet Gill/Chandan Sen of Team Maruti driving a Maruti Suzuki Gypsy lifted the trophy in the Adventure Trial 4W category with an overall penalty of 0.03.46 Hrs. Subir Roy/Md. Mustafa was first runner up with a penalty of 0.03.53 Hrs. while Kaushal Patel/Gaurav Patel were ranked overall third with cumulative penalty of 0.04.01 Hrs.

Mahindra progress clear in strong Aragon race

E-mail Print

mahindra-racing---miguel-oliveira---jerez 1Aragon, Spain: Mahindra rider Miguel Oliveira took a hard-fought fifth place at Sunday’s Aragon Grand Prix, fighting to the end with championship leader Luis Salom, and crossing the line less than a tenth of a second adrift after they had changed places four times in a thrilling final lap.

Team-mate Efrén Vázquez was tenth, after fighting for almost full distance in a big group of Moto3™ machines, also swapping back and forth as they battled for inches on the fast and scenic 5.078-km Motorland Aragon circuit.

A third Mahindra, the customer bike now in its second race with the Ambrogio team, finished 12th, in the hands of South African Brad Binder. It is the first time three of the new-this-year Mahindra MGP3O machines have finished in the championship points.

Sebastian Vettel wins Singapore Grand Prix

E-mail Print

sebastianvettel101Singapore: Red Bull's Sebastian Vettel won the Singapore Grand Prix by a massive margin of 32.6 over Ferrari's Fernando Alonso, while Lotus's Kimi Raikkonen came third ahead of the Mercedes pair Nico Rosberg and Lewis Hamilton here on Sunday.

With this win the German boosted his championship lead on Alonso from 53 points to 60 with six races remaining.

Vettel said after the race that it's just been a fantastic weekend for him. “The start was close, but then we had strong race pace, especially when the safety car came in, and we pushed very hard to try to build up a gap. You never know what’s coming up and what can happen. The last ten laps seemed to go on forever inside the car,” he said, adding that he kept his concentration by reminding himself how easily he could make a mistake around here.

Page 7 of 98


Your Page on ISN

Top 10 in Sports

Legends of Indian Sports