Wawrinka, Gasquest complete ATP World Tour Finals field, Qureshi/Rojer secure doubles berth

London: The eight-player singles field for the 2013 Barclays ATP World Tour Finals is set. Stanislas Wawrinka and Richard Gasquet have clinched the final two berths following Milos Raonic’s third-round loss to Tomas Berdych at the BNP Paribas Masters.

World No. 1 Rafael Nadal, defending champion Novak Djokovic, David Ferrer, Juan Martin del Potro, Tomas Berdych and six-time winner Roger Federer round out the list of singles competitors, with the season finale to get underway next Monday at The O2 in London. Great Britain’s Andy Murray also qualified, but was forced to withdraw after undergoing back surgery.

Get Last Remaining Tickets

Wawrinka will be making his Barclays ATP World Tour Finals debut. Coupled with Federer’s qualification, it marks the first time that two Swiss players will be competing at the season finale. Gasquet will make his second appearance, having also qualified six years ago in Shanghai.

Wawrinka and Gasquet have each produced their best seasons to date to secure their places at the Final Showdown. The 28-year-old Wawrinka is one victory from securing his 50th match win of the season, having won his fourth ATP World Tour title at the Portugal Open, reached the final of ATP World Tour Masters 1000 Madrid and advanced to his first Grand Slam semi-final at the US Open.

Gasquet is also on the verge of his 50th win, having captured three ATP World Tour titles in a year for the first time since 2006. The 27-year-old Frenchman triumphed in Doha, Montpellier and Moscow, as well as reaching his first major semi-final since 2007 at the US Open.

Aisam-Ul-Haq Qureshi and Jean-Julien Rojer will contest the Barclays ATP World Tour Finals for the second year in a row after clinching their berth on Thursday. The Pakistani/Dutch duo reached the quarter-finals of the BNP Paribas Masters, while their rivals, David Marrero and Fenando Verdasco, were beaten in the second round. Two spots remain in the doubles field, with Marrero/Verdasco, Mariusz Fyrstenberg and Marcin Matkowski, Max Mirnyi and Horia Tecau and Santiago Gonzalez and Scott Lipsky still in contention.